:: Tian Tan Buddha

April 9, 2009

The Tian Tan Buddha situated on Lantau Island in Hong Kong has one big Buddha belly.

Big Buddha says, “Oh Hai!”

Epic High Five with Tian Tan Buddha

Epic High Five with Tian Tan Buddha

Pretty sweet right? I wanted to rub his belly so, so bad. Unfortunately I couldn’t find any nooks (or crannies) to use to scramble up for the epic rub and high five. To get to the Tian Tan Buddha we had a couple of options. The first being a nice liesurly cable car ride, or for the more hardcore folks (Janet Reno look-a-likes) you can walk the entire damn way.

We chose the cable car. See those people on the stairs in that last link? We laughed. We really did. Didn’t feel bad about it either. Though I suppose they had the most “rewarding” journey to the Buddha what with all the 7-11s, Starbucks, and giftshops waiting for them at the top. Very rewarding I’m sure. “I just made a spiritual journey. I’ll take a grande mocha latte, hold the cream.”

This is me chillin on the steps to the Buddha after the strenuous cable car ride.

Oh hai! Mr. Buddha!

Oh hai! Mr. Buddha!

We may not have hiked the entire way up, but see how happy I look? There were many a folk climbing those stairs that looked absolutely miserable. I’m guessing they were the ones that made the hike. I asked one of them, but he couldn’t respond because he was out of breath. After we grew weary of the Buddha and his large “I’m better than you gaze” we hobbled down to the Po Lin Monastery right around the corner, next to the “Restaurant Toilet.” Seriously. Horrible sign placement. Anyway…Po Lin dawg! Nice place. Very chill. Monks kickin’ in back as they weren’t out and about getting their monk on. I did see some people getting their pray on, and decided to take a picture. Of course, dude with a cell phone took that moment to step in. Either way, the Tian Tan Buddha, which is the world’s largest by the way, was an impressive sight – tourist trap and all.

8 Responses to “:: Tian Tan Buddha”

  1. Jeannette Says:

    Agh, so cool!!! Okay, so…you wimped out and rode a cable car, haha!

    I would walk it just to say I did. Plus there’s trees everywhere and I love trees. You could rest! Just stand to the left, right? Or is it right? I don’t want an impatient person knocking me down…then again, I’m not a nun so I could push back.

    Plus, I’m terrified of heights. No cable cars for me! I don’t even like them at the fair, and the one in Disney World nearly gave me a heart attack.

    ANNND…what’s up with all the shops at the top? That’s stupid! That just wrecks EVERYTHING.

  2. Nby Says:

    you stole my epic hi-five gag. Yakuza will be there soon.

  3. Jeannette Says:

    Nby, that is not a very thoughtful comment. You should try to be a little more grateful or at least ramble a wall of text like I did!

  4. Chris Says:

    Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery NBY.

    I couldn’t look at the pic the same way again after your comment.

  5. Nby Says:

    While I appreciate the sentiment one cannot simply call of a Yakuza hit. I would need to perform the twelve steps of derelict privilege upon the coals of rice fire. After that the fourth moon of Jupiter must be in line with the 6th hair of a WI badger if I even have a chance of passing through the cave of manly wonders underneath the fartch of heavenly rank. Again – the likeliness of this happening is low. Or I could just leave the hit and see what happens. Am I doing it right Beanie? I can keep going but I think I just ran out of nonsensical things to say so maybe I will just copy and paste into this area what I just typed and then it will look really long and impressive While I appreciate the sentiment one cannot simply call of a Yakuza hit. I would need to perform the twelve steps of derelict privilege upon the coals of rice fire. After that the fourth moon of Jupiter must be in line with the 6th hair of a WI badger if I even have a chance of passing through the cave of manly wonders underneath the fartch of heavenly rank. Again – the likeliness of this happening is low. Or I could just leave the hit and see what happens. Am I doing it right Beanie? I can keep going but I think I just ran out of nonsensical things to say so maybe I will just copy and paste into this area what I just typed and then it will look really long and impressive.

  6. Jeannette Says:

    You know what, nby? I think you’re getting the hang of it, but to really make it interesting you should put in some lines of poetry or song lyrics. Like, I dunno…’skidamarink a dink a dink, skidamarink a doo, I love you! Skidamarink a dink a dink, skidamarink a doo, I love you! I love you in the morning and in the afternoon, I love you in the evening and underneath the moon! Oh, Skidamarink a dink a dink, skidamarink a doo, I love you!!’ See, I copied and pasted that but I made it into a paragraph thingie instead of the usual format. There’s a secret hint about that too. You should always make it SENTENCES and put (!) instead of periods so it sounds exciting. And double space after the (!) so it looks like you really spent AGES typing all that. No, let’s look at a poem:

    Messy Room by Shel Silverstein

    Whosever room this is should be ashamed!
    His underwear is hanging on the lamp.
    His raincoat is there in the overstuffed chair,
    And the chair is becoming quite mucky and damp.
    His workbook is wedged in the window,
    His sweater’s been thrown on the floor.
    His scarf and one ski are beneath the TV,
    And his pants have been carelessly hung on the door.
    His books are all jammed in the closet,
    His vest has been left in the hall.
    A lizard named Ed is asleep in his bed,
    And his smelly old sock has been stuck to the wall.
    Whosever room this is should be ashamed!
    Donald or Robert or Willie or–
    Huh? You say it’s mine? Oh, dear,
    I knew it looked familiar!

    I copied and pasted that. But, you really shouldn’t mess with a WHOLE poem. Now if I were to put in a little poem or a line from a poem, I could just toss it in here like so: ‘you stand at the blackboard, daddy, in the picture I have of you.’ See? I added quotes to take up space in my wall of text and made it look like I typed it again. Again, I look really smart and unlazy. It’s little things like (“) and (!) that make you look thoughtful and smart. And diligent. And stuff. Of course, you could be none of these things like me, and just be really bored. Like me. Or you want to be slightly annoying (like me) or make people think you’re crazy (like me). Well, I am a BIT crazy. I mean, I’m sitting here talking, no TYPING to myself and this makes semi-complete sense to me, but I have to wonder…what am I DOING? I don’t know. I don’t remember what my point was. Oh yeah! To show you how to make a GOOD wall of text. And to show you that I am a better and thoughtful wall of text writer than you. I have no need for copying and pasting of my own drivel! No! I can create my own ORIGINAL drivel! And lots of it! So I leave you with these final words: the rain in Spain stays mainly in the plain. And I actually wrote that out! Seriously! It’s from My Fair Lady! And it’s a good movie! Really, it is!

  7. Chris Says:

    Spammed by my own friends.

    You know what would REALLY be evil?

    If I deleted the comment. But I wouldn’t do that, I’m not a cold hearted SOB (most of the time).

    In other news….Tian Tan Buddha! Yeah, buddha.

  8. Jeannette Says:

    Hey! I’m ENTERTAINING YOU!

    I’m making you seem IMPORTANT.

    Don’t be a meanie-head, Chris!

    SPAM=LOVE! ❤


Leave a Reply

