:: Rugby Sevens Hong Kong – Lan Kwai Fong

March 30, 2009

So that was Rugby Sevens. At least, I think it was. Not sure to be honest. I didn’t make it to the actual Rugby part of the weekend, but did partake in the aftermath at LKF on Friday and Saturday nights. Luckily, I didn’t go to Wanchai on Friday for the festivities because a 50 Man Brawl erupted. For those not familiar with what the Rugby Sevens in HK is, here’s a little history lesson. Basically, it is about getting as absolutely plastered as possible at the games, dressing like a buffoon, then taking your buffoon dressed more-than-likely-semi-nude-behind to LKF where the party goes into the morning hours. Sevens started off in the 1970s as a get together put on by some old school rugby players, and it just caught on and got bigger and bigger every year until becoming one of the premier rugby events in the world. There were quite a few Kiwis and Aussies in town for the weekend just for this.

Rugby Sevens Afterparty in Lan Kwai Fong (LKF) Hong Kong

Rugby Sevens Afterparty in Lan Kwai Fong (LKF) Hong Kong

And now for a vid since you’ve been so patient. I’d hold you, but I probably still smell like stale beer.

3 Responses to “:: Rugby Sevens Hong Kong – Lan Kwai Fong”

  1. Jeannette Says:

    That picture makes my hyperventilate. I don’t think I’m made for China (at least the city).

  2. Nby Says:

    Ok. Thats exactly why I love my nice home town. Trying to keep track of people in the crowd like that would drive me insane. I just dont think I would be happy living around that many people.

  3. Chris Says:

    Most of the people in that crowd were in town for the 7ens. Many from Aus and NZ. LKF usually isn’t that packed but yeah this area (and this island) is pretty stacked with people. You get used to it though. Don’t really have a choice.


Leave a Reply

