:: Macao or bust (and other assorted goodies)

March 16, 2009

Lots to talk about in this post. Lots and lots. Bunches. Bunches of Oats.

So there are some pics. Took a lot of video as well but have to compile and upload and probably set to techno before I post. You like? I DO NOT CARE IF YOU LIKE!

The hydrofoil boat is pretty amazing, at least for a newbie like myself. The long time Hong Konger we were with couldn’t have cared less about the niftyness of the boat racing across the top of the water, and after about 40 trips I’d imagine I wouldn’t either. It takes about 1 hour to get from Hong Kong to Macao and costs $15 US. You have to clear immigration and everything as Macao is a “Special Autonomous Region” like Hong Kong. I’ll just say we had to go there to finalize our visas and leave it at that.

As for Macao it is basically a mini Vegas with a Sands hotel and even an MGM Grand. I know, big deal. Still, it is fairly surreal taking a boat from Hong Kong to what feels like Vegas in many respects.

After arriving we went to Fernando’s which is out on one of the islands and is a fairly famous Portugues restaurant. Dined on all manner of goodness that I won’t bore you with. Will say that we partook in beers and sangria, and that I lost $50 entirely too fast on a blackjack table.

Emotes.

In other quick news…

Saw Watchmen, and yes Dr. Manhattan has a large, blue wang that destroys worlds. The rumors are true.

People should not be allowed to eat dried shrimp in a movie theater. One of those “only in Asia” things.

Scrabble is cool as was proven by the Starbucks employee that asked us where he could buy it with a big smile on his face.

Scrabble is not so cool when you get demolished for the first time in ages (you know who you are! I shall have my revenge!)

Never trust an expat magazine to recommend a sushi restaurant. FunnyI should say this considering I used to write reviews for restaurants. Ok, my reviews were spot on, but that’s just me. Alright, I take it back, you can trust some magazines, just not HK Magazine. *grumbles*

My apartment has a rug and that’s it.

I dressed like a rock star on Friday night and almost got into a fight with a Frenchman that insulted a girl in our group for no reason what so ever. Luckily, I looked like a rockstar (neck tatoos and all) and I had a guitar with me that I was prepared to smash. I was also called “American white trash” by the guy, which was found hysterical by everybody because that was in fact exactly what I looked like. Hilarity ensued. (Many pics to follow of that night soon)

I’m still eating too much crap fast food. Everybody should buy stock in McD’s.

On Sunday went to a exhibition on old residential buildings that are being torn down. Surreal experience, but not because of the “uniqueness” of the buildings, but because the residential buildings looked like many places in mainland China that are normal, but there were Hong Kongers taking pics of this place like it was some kind of far off land. Then, to top things off I had perhaps some of the best French toast I’ve ever had at this little Chinese diner that looked and felt like the Asian equivalent to what a roadside diner in America is like except…it was Asian. Strange. But awesome. French toast was Godly.

That’s it for now. Stay tuned for assorted multimedia goodies in the next few days.

4 Responses to “:: Macao or bust (and other assorted goodies)”

  1. A. Says:

    So good.

    I, too, bear witness to the large blue wang.

    I detest how much funnier you are than me. 😀

  2. Jeannette Says:

    So does McDonald’s there taste like McDonald’s here? What stuff is the same and what is different?

  3. Chris Says:

    Pretty much the same really. Still tastes like shit.

  4. Jeannette Says:

    And yet you eat it!


Leave a Reply

