China boy strikes again

March 3, 2009

So admittedly I’ve slacked on getting this blog started. For that I apologize.

So on with the post! No more fiddling with apologies and lamentations. I’m in Hong Kong and I’ve been here for just about 2 weeks now. I have taken some video, but won’t be able to post it until I can get a program to convert some files, so patience my friends patience.

For those of you looking for a little history on who your intrepid blogger is let me clue you in. I’m a 32 year old American guy who essentially quit his job as a QA tester back in 06, packed up his crap, kissed his mum goodbye, and shot off to Shanghai for two years. I didn’t have a job, or much money, but I was able to find some gigs teaching English because I was white and tall, and eventually moved on to editing a lifestyle magazine for the city. China boy then returned to California in Nov 07 with the intentions of moving to France. France didn’t work out, so I looked for work and found a job editing an Asian restaurant magazine out of Shenzhen China. I ventured to Shenzhen for a couple months from April to June, then returned to the US where I spent a good 7 months freelancing and looking for full time work in the wonderful economy, until finally heading to Hong Kong for a full time editorial position. Which brings me to today…

Hong Kong is a fairly ridiculous city. When I say ridiculous I mean chaotic, and when I say chaotic I mean claustrophobic, and by claustrophobic I mean f*cking awesome.

I’m currently living in a serviced box out in Tin Hao district, but just signed a lease on a 2 bedroom place in SoHo near Central. I don’t mind my box, my box is fairly nice, but what you get living in a “serviced” apartment is a high cost and a very small living space. So this new apartment is in the heart of one of the entertainment districts, meaning I’ll always have something to do close at hand. This is also good news for those of you considering visiting as the area is very convenient and hopping to say the least.

Did I mention that Hong kong is also insanely expensive? New York kind of expensive. Though the renters market is good right now because many expats have left. This meant nothing to me as I signed the first apartment I saw. Rash? Probably. But I love the place, and the area and price are awesome. So logic be damned!

Ah! If you want sexy legs move to Hong Kong. The amount of walking and hill and stair climbing is intense. My legs were killing me after the first few days here. Granted, I was a lazy American with a car back home, so for you Euros you’ll probably get around just fine. But damn, look at how sexy my legs are getting…

Sorry, got carried away there. (But my legs are looking good damnit! Reminds me of when I ran track like 1 billion years ago in High School. Go Lions!)

I’ve met some great people here so far, and everybody has been very keen on helping out “the new guy.” Luckily since I already spent a couple years in Shanghai, I don’t feel as out of place or culture shocked as I did when I first moved to Shanghai.

Sushi. I’ve eaten lots and lots of sushi and sashimi. My God how I love thee sushi. I’ve also eaten BK and McD’s a couple times, which I never do back home. I did the same thing when I went to Shanghai, and I’ll stop eating at those places once I find some decent hole in the wall local places to eat at. Until then I’ll just be constipated (not really). Hey, you saw Supersize Me and understand it takes months for McD’s fries to decompose.

Speaking of constipation, no food poisoning yet! Sexcellent. So far I’m getting the impression I won’t have to worry about that in HK as much as I did in Shanghai. There isn’t nearly as much street food, and there are plenty of quality places to eat out at.

Ah yes, my first night here. Where to begin? The French. I can’t seem to avoid the French. I posted a “I’m moving to Hong Kong” thread on one of my social networks and got a killer reply. One such reply was by a Francais that offered to take me out on the town the first night. So, we met up and then met up with a group of French bankers out in Lan Kwai Fong (the major nightlife area, basically 4 blocks of bars and clubs). They were all very nice people and ended up taking me to a bunch of different places and treating me to everything. Keep in mind these are bankers and you’ll get an idea of how much money was dropped. It is a different level out here to say the least.

Last week I went out to some random person’s birthday party and met a few people there, then headed out to a “meet and greet” type deal at a members only club where once again I met a number of quality people. As I’m sure you’re gathering, meeting people in Hong Kong is quite easy. My job does help a bit in that as well what with working in the lifestyle editing industry.

So now the plan is to move into my new apartment this weekend and get some basic furnishings in there. I’m going to have to put the place together fairly slowly because of my quick action in wanting to get a place. But it will be nice to just have a perm place to call my own for a while.

That about does it for now. You see? I posted eventually. I really did. And I promise there will be more…someday (soon).

4 Responses to “China boy strikes again”

  1. Dave Says:

    You wish you had my sexy European legs.

  2. Mum Says:

    Thanks for the update. I enjoyed reading about your newest adventures.

  3. Nikki Says:

    sexy legs huh? lol and yum! sushi! I just had some the other night at Arigatos 😉

  4. Jeannette Says:

    Maybe I SHOULD move to China. I’m sick of the treadmill.


Leave a Reply

